Science Museum and V&A Museum

I have been in London for 6 months without seeing the Science Museum or the Victoria and Albert Museum.  They are close to each other so I did them both in the same day.  The Science Museum had some neat stuff in it but there were kids everywhere and the museum was kind of set up for kids so that was annoying.  One of the most interesting things was this Toyota i-unit car designed in Japan.  It was part of their display celebrating 100 years of plastic.  It uses uses plant-based materials instead of oil-based plastics and metals.  It hardly looks like a car:

GEDC1451

The Victoria and Albert Museum was better than I thought it was going to be. It is a museum of decorative arts and design.  It had an amazing building.  I especially liked the section on theater and performance.  In the section on clothing designs and history, I was by far the most underdressed person there.  I was wearing jeans and a t-shirt while everyone around me was in the latest styles.  It also had a lot of art and art history.  It was huge.  It had a whole section on metal art (which brought me back to my welding days) and a whole section on silver, etc.

GEDC1458 GEDC1480 GEDC1482

I then went on a quick walk around hyde park and Kensington Gardens which were near by.

GEDC1517 GEDC1518 GEDC1520

-Paige

Published in: on June 27, 2009 at 14:38  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://apanderso.wordpress.com/2009/06/27/science-museum-and-va-museum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment